Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Starting a search

eReference Books are a good place to begin your search and to thoroughly understand the topic you are researching.

Dictionaries provide definitions of unfamiliar terms.
Encyclopedias give explanations and succinct overviews of topics.


New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Anatomy TV covers a full range of interactive and accurate 3D models of human anatomy online, with specialized resources on various clinical areas and body systems.
New
Beck-Online is a German (language) full-text database, providing access to German legal resources. You can search legal magazines, commentaries, legal codes of each state and court rulings.It further includes about 500 (full text) handbooks, lexica and commentaries, over 90 (full text) professional law journals and an abundance of statutes and court decisions.”
New
Initially modeled after the Financial Times of London, Business Day goes beyond traditional financial reporting to cover sport,travel, books, arts and entertainment from a business-minded perspective. Its editorial integrity helps ensure that researchers find reliable information, while its popular opinion columns offer unique perspectives on current events. Now, each issue of this daily newspaper is available in a fully-searchable digital archive, giving students and researchers unprecedented access to decades of South African history.
Trial
Trial
Trial
DynaMed is a clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care. Rigorous and daily review of medical literature by our physician and specialist staff ensures that timely and objective analysis, synthesis and guidance are at our users' fingertips.DynaMed publishes clinically-organized topics which are continuously updated as new information indicates a need for change in practice. DynaMed content ranges from comprehensive reviews of diseases, conditions, and abnormal findings to highly focused topics on evaluation, differential diagnosis, and management. Drug and laboratory monographs developed and maintained by IBM Micromedex are also included.
Trial
Temporary access of 2018-2020 content until 31 August 2020 in response to COVID-19.
Eikon/Datastream (COVID-19 access)
Trial
Temporary access in response to disruptions caused by COVID-19. A login and password are required. Please book an online session to gain access.
Trial
New
Gartner is a leading information technology firm that provides research and analysis services to inform and support decision making in higher education and other industry sectors. Gartner is well known for its "Magic Quadrants" and "Hype Cycles" features.
Trial
Temporary access until 05 June 2020 in response to disruptions due to COVID-19.
New
JoVE, the leading creator and provider of video-based solutions that increase the productivity and efficacy of STEM research and education. Creates the ultimate solutions for advancing research and science education by making and publishing videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe. Allowing scientists, educators and students to see the intricate details of cutting-edge experiments rather than read them in text articles.
Trial
Temporary access until the 15 June 2020 in response to the COVID-19 outbreak.
Trial
Extended trial access granted due to COVID-19 until 30 June 2020..
Trial
Trial
Trial
Temporary access until 30 June 2020 in response to disruptions caused by COVID-19.
Trial
Temporary access until 05 June 2020 in response to disruptions due to COVID-19.
New
SciFinderⁿ accelerates research by providing actionable results such as step-by-step synthetic methods and hard to find chemistry in patents. The features of SciFinderⁿ in action includes trend analysis, citation mapping, retrosynthesis planning, and the most advanced chemical relevancy engine available today.

Users can access using their existing SciFinder credentials.

New To SciFinderⁿ? To gain access to the SciFinderⁿ as a new user, register with CAS from a computer on campus using your UCT emails. Please go to the following address on the web and register:
https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=39DC9499-86F3-F00A-1197-C4F31593B9A8
Once you verify your email, you'll be ready to access SciFinder-n.
Note that if an account is idle for 18 months or more, access will be deactivated. To restore access, please contact help@cas.org.
Loading...
Loading...


Terms of Use

The subscribed databases available via this list may only be accessed by authorised users, and for non-commercial, educational, and scholarly use. Please visit our Database A-Z licence conditions & disclaimer. for more information.

title
Loading...