Skip to main content

Archaeology Library Guide: Databases

How to find information - a guide for Archaeology students

Databases

Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources.

Search for articles using databases by typing keywords that describe your topic. Remember to define the topic and think about the key concepts involved. Contact your Subject Librarian, Caitlin Miller, for assistance in searching for resources by arranging a research consultation.

Searches in the databases will produce lists of journal articles and other materials on your topic, but not all these articles will be available in UCT Libraries. If we do not subscribe to the journal you need, ask our Interlibrary Loans Department to obtain the article for you from another library.

For more information on searching databases for journals, journal articles, and more, click here.

Useful Databases

To access online tutorials on the UCT Libraries Website, hover your mouse over Reseach Help and click on Tutorials - find out about locating books, journals, and more.  

Accessing databases

To access e-databases choose the Electronic Resources tab on the top menu bar of our homepage and then select either the A-Z list of Databases or Databases by Platform

It is possible to access our databases and electronic journals off-campus using EZProxy.

EBSCOhost Databases

To search different EBSCOhost databases simultaneously, choose one (such as Academic Search Premier) and then click on "Choose Databases" . A pop-up screen will allow you to select the ones you want to search.

Evaluating e-resources

When using the internet you should be cautious as most websites don't undergo peer review.

You need to evaluate the website by asking: "Is it reliable, credible and up to date?"

 

The following links will help you find out more about evaluating websites:

♠ Information fluency: a students' resource to learn how to master information challenges
♠ UC Berkeley Library. Evaluating web pages: techniques to apply & questions to ask
♠ Sheridan Libraries. Evaluating information found on the internet 
♠ Cornell University Library. Evaluating web sites: criteria and tools