Skip to main content

Classical Studies Library Guide: Finding journal articles for Classics - using key subject databases

a Library guide for Classics students

Databases for Classics

 

Databases for Classics

Databases index journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, theses….

Often you can download full text – either directly from the database or by clicking the Link to the Record through Primo button to see if the item is available in full text on another database.

If there is no full text we might have the item in print, or be able to obtain it by Inter Library Loan, or simply buy it, if it is a book or thesis, to add to our collection.

To get to the A-Z database list, mouse over Search & Find on the Library Homepage www.lib.uct.ac.za and select Databases.

 The major index for Classics is:

Annee philologique 

A database published by the Societe Internationale de Bibliographie Classique. 

 Some other databases useful for Classics are:

Academic OneFile

Academic Search Premier – via EBSCOhost (Full Text)

ARTstor 

History Study Centre

Humanities International Complete – via EBSCOhost

International Index to the Performing Arts Full text

JSTOR

MLA International Bibliography – via EBSCOhost

Oxford Art Online

Oxford English Dictionary Online

Project Muse Premium Collection

Sabinet African Journals (contains SA Classics journals such as Scholia, Acta Classica and Akroterion)This link opens in a new window

 

 

 

Online reference materials

Good Classics sites on the WWW:

  • Perseus digital library is a vast and ever-expanding encyclopaedia of the classical world, which publishes texts (in both the original languages and in translation), images, essays, dictionaries and more besides.
     
  • Livius offers articles on ancient history and archaeology as well as a library of images of ancient sites.
     
  • LacusCurtius: into the Roman world is a website which hosts much which will be of interest to the student of Roman archaeology, history or culture, including: Latin texts; an extensive library of annotated images of Roman archaeological sites; and the texts of a range of relevant secondary source material such as dictionaries of Roman antiquities.
     
  • Encyclopaedia Romana features short narrative essays on topics relating to the ancient Roman world; an alphabetical index allows you to find information on the specific subject in which you are interested. The articles here are often accompanied by bibliographies for further reading.
     
  • Encyclopedia of the Hellenic world is an extensive (and growing) series of detailed articles on aspects of the history, geography and culture of the ancient Greek world.

     

    Internet for Classics, a free online tutorial to help university students develop their Internet research skills.
    Learn how to make discerning use of the Internet to help find information for your coursework and assignments.

    http://www.vtstutorials.co.uk/ws/learningcontent/Classics/

    Created by Dr Emma Bridges, Open University

the Classical Works Knowledge Base (CWKB)

Students and scholars can now freely search a new database of Latin and Greek authors that provides links to online versions of their works.

The database, http://cwkb.org/ contains metadata about 5,200 works by 1,500 ancient authors, allowing users with a limited knowledge of the classics’ canonical citation system to simply link to passages of digital texts.

Once a user types in search terms, the database offers links to the passage in digital versions of the text in the original Latin or Greek and in English translations.

The full-text services linked to are:

  • the Classical Latin Texts of the Packard Humanities Institute (PHI Latin Texts);
  • the Greek and Roman Texts from the Perseus Digital Library;
  • the Library of Latin Texts - Series A (LLT-A) from Brepols Publishers [licensed];
  • the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) [licensed] and the Abridged Online TLG.