Skip to main content

Psychology Library Guide: PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES and other psych databases

PsycArticles

PsycARTICLES – via EBSCOhost 


PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. It contains all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from over 50 top psychology publications.

 

PsycARTICLES is a subset of the far more comprehensive PsycINFO database.

Post Traumatic Stress Database

PILOTS 

This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.

Psychology book reviews

PsycCRITIQUES - via EBSCOhost 


PsycCRITIQUES is a database of full text book reviews in psychology. The database replaces the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books and provides reviews of current books and some films, as well as a 10 year backfile.

PsycInfo Guides

PsycINFO – via EBSCOhost 


PsycINFO provides access to citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present.

For the most part PsycINFO gives only citations and abstracts for journal articles, book chapters and theses, rather than the full text.

However, clicking on the "Link to Record through Primo" , each record often brings up the full text of the article from other databases to which UCT subscribes. If PsycINFO  searching brings up a reference to a book chapter, you can check on the library catalogue to see whether we have that book. If we do not have that book at UCT, we might still be able to get it for you from another library in South Africa by inter-library loan.

It is important to master PsycINFO since it is the primary tool for research in psychology.

Two guides are attached below: a two-page quick-start guide and an in-depth guide with examples.

The online sources are:

http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/training/ebsco.pdf

http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=2564

PsycTests

PsycTESTS 


PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.

Acquired Brain Impediment database

PsycBITE 
"PsycBITE is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour. The website gives clinicians, students and researchers free access to the PsycBITE database ..."

Psychiatry Online and DSM5

PsychiatryOnline 

Includes access to the set of DSM 5 manuals (below) as well as some important journals and textbooks.

To access this go to the library homepage at www.lib.uct.ac.za, mouse over Search & Find, select Databases, and look for PsychiatryOnline under the A-Z list. If accessing it from off-campus, it will be necessary to use the off-campus login on the library home page. 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders

FIFTH EDITION  |  DSM-5

The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. DSM-5 is used by health professionals, social
workers,and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders, and is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings-inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical,private practice, and primary care.

 DSM-5™

Handbook of Differential Diagnosis

Michael B. First, M.D.

The Handbook helps clinicians and students learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis improve their skill in formulating a comprehensive differential diagnosis by providing a variety of approaches. These include a six-step diagnostic framework, 29 bottom-up “decision trees”, and 66 differential diagnosis tables for use once a tentative diagnosis has been made. It offers a solution to differential diagnosis that recognizes the complexity of human personality and the structural utility of the DSM-5™ classification.

 

DSM-5™

Clinical Cases

Edited by John W. Barnhill, M.D.

These cases exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the DSM-5™. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5™ and help with understanding diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications. A brief discussion follows each case, analyzing the clinical presentation, highlighting key points, and exploring issues of comorbidity that may complicate both the diagnosis and subsequent treatment.

 

Previous Editions of DSM

Previous editions of DSM are included here for reference and archival purposes. Each edition is provided in Adobe’s Portable Document Format (PDF). You need Adobe’s Reader 5.0.5 or higher to view and print the PDF files. You can download the latest version for free from Adobe here.

These editions are not searchable from the main PsychiatryOnline.com search interface; however, each edition is searchable on its own using the Adobe Reader search.

The files are large; thank you for your patience while they load.

·         DSM-I: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual: Mental Disorders (1952)

·         DSM-I Special Supplement: on plans for revision to better align with the International Classification of Diseases (1965)

·         DSM-II: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 2nd Edition (1968)

·         DSM-II 6th printing change: Elimination of Homosexuality as a mental disorder and substitution of the new category Sexual Orientation Disturbance (1973)

·         DSM-III: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd Edition (1980) (File size: 38.9 MB)

·         DSM-III-R: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd Edition—Revised (1987) (File size: 31.9 MB)

·         DSM-IV: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (1994) (File size: 56 MB)

·         DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (2000) (File size: 7.3 MB)

Includes access to the DSM-5, journals and some books published by the American Psychiatric Association.