Includes access to the set of DSM 5 manuals (below) as well as some important journals and textbooks.
To access this go to the library homepage at www.lib.uct.ac.za, mouse over Search & Find, select Databases, and look for PsychiatryOnline under the A-Z list. If accessing it from off-campus, it will be necessary to use the off-campus login.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
FIFTH EDITION | DSM-5
The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. DSM-5 is used by health professionals, social
workers,and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders, and is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings-inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical,private practice, and primary care.
DSM-5™
Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
Michael B. First, M.D.
The Handbook helps clinicians and students learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis improve their skill in formulating a comprehensive differential diagnosis by providing a variety of approaches. These include a six-step diagnostic framework, 29 bottom-up “decision trees”, and 66 differential diagnosis tables for use once a tentative diagnosis has been made. It offers a solution to differential diagnosis that recognizes the complexity of human personality and the structural utility of the DSM-5™ classification.
DSM-5™
Edited by John W. Barnhill, M.D.
These cases exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the DSM-5™. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5™ and help with understanding diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications. A brief discussion follows each case, analyzing the clinical presentation, highlighting key points, and exploring issues of comorbidity that may complicate both the diagnosis and subsequent treatment.
Previous Editions of DSM
Previous editions of DSM are included here for reference and archival purposes. Each edition is provided in Adobe’s Portable Document Format (PDF). You need Adobe’s Reader 5.0.5 or higher to view and print the PDF files. You can download the latest version for free from Adobe here.
These editions are not searchable from the main PsychiatryOnline.com search interface; however, each edition is searchable on its own using the Adobe Reader search.
The files are large; thank you for your patience while they load.
· DSM-I: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual: Mental Disorders (1952)
· DSM-I Special Supplement: on plans for revision to better align with the International Classification of Diseases (1965)
· DSM-II: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 2nd Edition (1968)
· DSM-II 6th printing change: Elimination of Homosexuality as a mental disorder and substitution of the new category Sexual Orientation Disturbance (1973)
· DSM-III: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd Edition (1980) (File size: 38.9 MB)
· DSM-III-R: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd Edition—Revised (1987) (File size: 31.9 MB)
· DSM-IV: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (1994) (File size: 56 MB)
· DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (2000) (File size: 7.3 MB)
Includes access to the DSM-5, journals and some books published by the American Psychiatric Association.
Welcome to your Subject Guide for Psychology. It offers some basic guidance on how to find and use the Library's resources in this subject area.
If you need assistance with your research, please contact Sindiswa Majebe or Ingrid Thomson
Please let us have a copy of your research proposal (even in draft form) and an indication of any research you may have done so far, and suggest a few possible dates and times when you are available.
For quick reference assistance, please use the Ask-A-Librarian service.
PRIMO is a tool for searching across the UCT library book catalogue as well as a selection of our databases of full text journal articles, all with one query.
You can find it on the library homepage at www.lib.uct.ac.za
In this example we going to do a search in the Sociology of Literature – (the study of literature as a reflection of its society), and a very nice topic for bridging both the Arts and the Social Sciences it is too.
We are going to look for a particular author – Nontsizi Mgqwetho.
This quick search brings up the copies that we have of her work, as well as books and articles about her work.
Clicking on the TITLE of the top record takes me to the records for the printed books and gives me the shelf number so I can find them on the shelves: It says the book is available at the African Studies Library and other locations.
The African Studies Library is a research and archive collection, which collects and preserves books in stock for the generations yet to come and attracts researchers from around the world. In consequence the African Studies collection books can only be read in that library and may not be borrowed.
The Main Library copy is the one that can be borrowed, but you have to get into the full record to finds its specific shelf number.
The shelf number works like a street address – just follow the numbers up or down until you get to the address you want. Shelf numbers keep related books together, so once you have found your book, it is often useful to browse the books on either side of it as well.
In fact, you don’t even have to physically be in the library to do it… If you again click on the title of one of the results, you will be taken to the full record for the book – which has a virtual browse option – so you can see all its neighbouring books…. You never know what you will discover that way.
By clicking on the blue subject headings in the record you can also call up similar books which share that subject heading.
On the search screen you can use a drop-down arrow to search only for electronic journal articles or electronic books or reference works.
In this example, restricting the search to Articles & other Electronic Resources, the top results are for electronic journal articles…
And further down we have an electronic encyclopaedia entry for her, also available online.
If I click on the title I will be taken to a full record for the article or electronic book, and a link to the database on which it lives:
And so to download the article:
The record also shows me how to cite the book or article – which I will need to do if I am going to use it in an essay:
Or, even better, it allows me to send the record to a program like RefWorks or Endnote, which does my citing for me, automatically, at the touch of a button….
The left-hand side of the screen has all sorts of options for refining or restricting your results:
The most useful are probably Peer-reviewed Journals (the most respectable journals, I which every article is vetted by other academics), Subject or Resource type:
If you are getting too many results – and PRIMO can bring up a lot of results – you can use an Advanced Search to search more precisely:
And if you are looking for a very specific book, journal or article – for example from a reading list - PRIMO has a Find By Citation form which can help you find exactly that reference. I’ll use a good social science example here:
Just put in as much information as you have on the reference:
Shaffer, P., 1998. Gender, poverty and deprivation: evidence from the Republic of Guinea. World Development, 26(12), pp.2119-2135.
And this will bring it up in both print and electronic versions:
And clicking on the full text or database link will take you to it.
It is possible to create very precise searches just using keywords.
The trick is to combine them with Boolean Operators, wildcards and brackets. Most of our databases, including our library catalogue, take Boolean operators.
Consider this search string:
(child* OR wom?n OR gender) AND poverty AND Africa* NOT “African American”
The * is a wildcard – it calls up anything that follows the root “child” – so it will being up child and children or childhood……
The ? is a mid-word wildcard – calls up women and woman…
The OR expands you options – women or gender must come up in the results, it doesn’t matter which….
The (brackets) keep the OR words together and relate them to the AND which follows – otherwise the search would call up anything to do with women, regardless of whether it had to do with poverty and Africa….
Any words linked with AND must be included in the search results - OR broadens a search, AND tightens it.
NOT excludes a term. Be careful of this. First search without it, to get an idea of what you are missing.
“Inverted commas” enclose a precise phrase.
To use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) in PRIMO, you must enter them in CAPITAL LETTERS, otherwise PRIMO ignores them.
Don’t forget that you can restrict the search to electronic journal articles or electronic books only, using the drop-down arrow – useful if you are off-campus.
