Databases collect, organise and index scholarly resources. Their collection could be multidisciplinary or discipline specific. UCT Libraries subscribe to many databases covering a wide range of subject areas and all of them are searchable by Primo.
You can search a database by typing in keywords that describe your topic. To get the most out of our databases, making strategic searching would help.
For further help make an appointment with your Subject Librarian.
If you cannot find a journal title at UCT Libraries or if UCT Libraries does not have the date of the journal article that you need, you can request it via UCT Libraries Interlibrary Loans Service. The Interlibrary Loans service will source the requested items from other national or international libraries.
Submit your request by filling online request form at the Interlibrary Loans Service webpage.
Use Book Request Form to request for books and book chapters.
Use Journal Request Form to request journal articles.
On arrival of the item you will receive email notification to collect it.
Are you looking for a resources that UCT Libraries does not have? UCT Libraries Interlibrary Loans Service will source items from other national or international libraries.
Submit your request by filling online request form at the Interlibrary Loans Service webpage.
Use Book Request Form to request for books and book chapters.
Use Journal Request Form to request journal articles.
Email ILL@uct.ac.za for any other type of resources.
On arrival of the item, you will receive an email notification to collect it.
You can access UCT Libraries databases through an A-Z List of databases, or via Databases by Platform.
The link to the Databases and Databases by Platform can be found on the UCT Library Website, under Search & Find.
It is possible to access our databases off-campus by clicking OFF CAMPUS LOGIN on the UCT Library Website. You will need to use your student/staff number and Network password.