Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NISH (NITAG Support Hub) : Information Portal: Home

This LibGuide is intended to lead you through the process of finding information on the Vaccines for Africa Initiative (VACFA)

NiSH

The NiSH Activities are aimed to serve NITAGs in order to:
 

·Optimise political awareness, adaptive and responsive management that meets changing needs in a timely manner.

·Contribute to changes that strengthen and expand a culture of knowledge and information sharing among stakeholders. 

·Operate optimally with appropriate staffing and be responsive, accountable and transparent.

·Have high ratings from users and stakeholders

·Provide equitable services

The Library Guide

Define the aims of the libguide-

This LibGuide (reference guide) aims to collect and manage data, information and knowledge that are relevant for NiSH in order to conduct EIDM options. The platform permits for easy navigation through relevant resources in the vaccination for Africa  (VACFA) subject field.

Define the key elements of the libguide.

The key elements of the LibGuide is to keep participants up to date with latest developments in the Vaccination for and iAfrica field. Tabs in the LibGuide will let researchers select African countries and lead them and decision makers to the databases which will offer the latest articles, information and reports . They include

Pubmed

Africa-Wide and CINAHL

Cochrane

Coronavirus Research Database

Google Scholar

UptoDate

OpenUCT

 

Many elements include visual presentations and would also offer benchmarking, trends and collaboration options.

Eventually it will also include data harvested by the ADH.

Identify the priority elements to start working on. List the details to go into each element- very happy to discuss and review

Priority elements would include :

  • All African countries
  • All available database resources with published, peer-reviewed articles, as well as grey literature
  • PICO questions that are most relevant, starting with a general question, such as :

PICO :

P : All countries in the Africa  region

I : Vaccination roll-out

C: Vaccination refusal/hesitancy/acceptance/confidence

O: Projected outcomes

 

The search string

Emphasis on a CLEAR question

How bibliographic databases are searched effectively:

We use keywords, subject terms and Boolean operators to tell a database how to combine search terms. Boolean operators are used to configure searches to find more precise and relevant results.

We call this a search strategy

Find, identify appropriate keywords, subject terms and Boolean operators AND OR NOR

Search Statements – Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research

Example 1:

AND

vaccines AND hesitancy

 

...where A stands for "vaccine" and B stands for "hesitancy"

 

The orange part in the middle will be the result list.

Example 2:

OR

 

The orange part will be the result list. (much larger than in example 1)

All keywords and phrases possible must be identified by way of using Thesauri, Google Scholar, subject headings

We use truncation or wildcards (*?)  to make sure to find everything. 

A search strategy is an organised structure of key terms used to search a database. The search strategy combines the key concepts of your sear

A search string

is a combination of keywords, truncation symbols, and boolean operators you enter into the search box of a library database or search engine

 

 

On Preprints

Important notice : 

MedRxiv and bioRxiv posts many COVID19-related papers. A reminder: they have not been formally peer-reviewed and should not guide health-related behavior or be reported in the press as conclusive.!

Open Access

Some articles are marked with "(Not OA)", which means that they are behind a paywall. Please contact us, so that we can attempt to access the articles differently.

On Arabic countries

For now we only concentrated on English, French and Portuguese countries.

We omitted : Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Sudan, Tunisia, Morocco, Algeria, and Western Sahara