Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lange’s Handbook of chemistry by
Call Number: DSR 540 LANG
An enormous compendium of chemical data giving properties of over 4000 organic compounds and 1400 inorganic compounds.
Bretherick's handbook of reactive chemical hazards. 7th ed. by
Call Number: DSR 541.39 BRET
A compilation of the risks (such as toxicity, fire, or explosion) resulting from chemical reactions gone astray, this book is designed to improve safety in laboratories as well as chemical manufacturing plants.
Polymer handbook by
Call Number: DSR 547.84 POLY
A one-stop reference bringing together all the data needed in theoretical and experimental polymer research.
Perry’s chemical engineers’ handbook by
Call Number: DSR 660 PERR
The definitive chemical engineering reference for more than half a century, this handbook covers of all aspects of the field - from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control.
Handbook of chemical engineering calculations by
Call Number: DSR 660.0212 HAND
This resource provides step-by-step procedures for performing a wide array of chemical engineering calculations - along with fully worked-out examples. that help you avoid costly errors. Includes practical techniques that help you solve problems manually or by setting up computer-based procedures.
Handbook of chemical processing equipment by
Call Number: DSR 660.283 CHER
This handbook provides descriptions of the working principles, intended applications, selection criteria and fundamental design principles for equipment used throughout the process and allied chemical industries.
Handbook of separation techniques for chemical engineers by
Call Number: DSR 660.2842 HAND
This book offers a complete compilation of techniques for separating liquid-liquid mixtures, liquids with dissolved solids, gas vapour mixtures, solid-liquid mixtures and gas solid mixtures, including techniques such as melt crystallization, solid-solid separations and barrier infiltration of hot gases.
Handbook of extractive metallurgy by
Call Number: DSR 669 HAND
This handbook presents data on metals, their extraction, their alloys, and their most important inorganic compounds. For each metal there is a clear description of how a it is extracted industrially from different raw materials, and on what its important alloys and compounds are.
ASM handbook / Metals Handbook
Call Number: DSR 669 META
Provides a vast amount of information on the properties, processing and applications of metals and alloys.
The main library's Reference Collection (on your left as you enter the Main Level) contains a wealth of information for chemical engineers. To find definitions of unfamiliar terms, look in technical dictionaries such as the McGraw-Hill dictionary of science & technology or Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary.
Encyclopaedias and handbooks can provide both succinct overviews of topics as well as detailed explanations. The engineering handbooks are especially useful for finding comprehensive coverage of engineering topics as well as tables of data.
We also have access to a number of excellent online reference works such as Kirk Othmer's encyclopaedia of chemical technology ... a complete list appears below.
Note that reference materials must be used in the Library as they may not be borrowed. Their shelf numbers have the prefix R or DSR.
If you can't find the information you need, please just ask at the Information Desk ... we are here to help you!
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, this encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)
This resource contains 901 tables of physical properties of interest to scientists and engineers.
Reagent Chemicals, 10th edition
Reagent Chemicals, 10th Edition provides specifications and analytical procedures to ensure the quality of your chemicals. Developed by the ACS Committee on Analytical Reagents, the new edition includes general physical properties and analytical uses for all reagent chemicals--over 500 in all--as well as thirty-two new reagents and three new classes of standard grade reference materials.
Essential Practices for Managing Chemical Reactivity Hazards
This book is useful for safety managers, chemists, and engineers alike, helping both small and large institutions identify, address, and manage chemical reactivity hazards.
International Tables for Crystallography
Articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research its applications. This resource covers symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals.
The Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals by
Call Number: DSR 540.3 MERC
A one-volume compendium of chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Each entry is a concise description of a single substance, including human and veterinary drugs; monoclonal antibodies; natural products; agriculturals, pesticides and herbicides; food additives and supplements; dyes, and environmentally significant substances. Includes scientific and patent literature references.
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology by
Call Number: DSR 660.03 KIRK
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, this encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Also available online.
Ullmann’s encyclopedia of industrial chemistry
Call Number: DSR 660.03 ULLM
A trustworthy compilation on everything that relates to the chemical industry, be it processes, chemicals, products, analytical chemistry, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology...and more, this encyclopedia contains over 800 articles written by international experts, more than 15000 tables, 25000 figures, and countless literature and patent references guide you to the relevant and accessible primary literature.
Encyclopedia of chemical processing by
Call Number: DSR 660.28003 ENCY
Coverage in this reference extends from fundamental aspects of industrial catalytic processes to polymerization processes. More than 400 entries cover synthetic reactions, catalyst and reactor choice, process simulation, energy integration, pinch design and more. The text details emerging technologies such as plasma polymerization and supercritical fluid technology.
Encyclopedia of separation science by
Call Number: DSR 660.284203 ENCY
A comprehensive work covering the whole of separation theory, methods, and techniques. Written by experts from both academic and industrial settings worldwide, this title includes 544 articles, covering 12 methods of separation: Affinity/Biotechnology, Centrifugation, Chromatography, Crystallization, Distillation, Electrophoresis, Extraction, Flotation, Ion exchange, Mass spectrometry, Membrane separations, and Particle size separation.
Encyclopedia of catalysis by
Call Number: DSR 660.299503 ENCY
This six volume encyclopedia covers the most significant aspects of homogenous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis, including the principles of catalysis; the scope of catalytic reactions; the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts; the modeling of catalytic processes; and related reaction engineering techniques.