Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics Library Guide: Articles, Journals & Databases

Articles, Journals and Databases FAQs

What is a journal?

A journal is like an academic magazine where scholars have written articles about their research. Essentially, a journal is a collection of articles.

What is the difference between a book and a journal article?

A book is a longer, and a usually more comprehensive text on a subject.

Journal articles are shorter, and more specific. They are published more frequently and so have more up-to-date information than books do.

Why use journals?

  • They are usually more up to date than books.
  • As most of them have been checked by other academics (i.e. peer reviewed), they are more reliable than general web articles and newspaper articles.
  • They are shorter to read than books.

What is a  database?

A databases collects, organises and indexes information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources.  UCT Libraries subscribe to many databases covering a wide range of subject areas.

You can search a database by typing in keywords that describe your topic.  The database will provide you with information about journal articles and other materials on the topic, and most will link you to full text articles in our electronic journals.

Print Journals at UCT Libraries

At UCT Libraries we have journals in both print and electronic format.

To find print journals, use Primo.  The journals are physically housed in three different areas. Here’s where to find them:

  • The most recent ones are in the Current Journals display in the Upper Level of the Research Wing;
  • From 1965 to present are shelved on Levels 2 and 3 as follows:
    • 001.305 SOU - 629.105 JOU ... Lower Level (down the spiral stairs). 
    • 629.105 JOU - 960.05 JOU... Basement Blocks E and F. 
  • Pre-1965 journals are housed in the Libraries' store on Middle Campus and must be requested at the Loans Desk.

Search for articles using Primo

How to search videos and slides

Want to improve your search? Check out these short videos and slides.

Top 20 Economics Journals

Ranked by Impact Factor (2017 Journal Citation Reports)

A-Z Database List

UCT Libraries subscribes to many databases. You can access the full A-Z list

A-Z Databases

Recommended Economics databases

Here are the recommended databases for Economics: