Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding data relating to South Africa
UNData and WHO Data, as described earlier, are important sources of statistical information both generally and with regard to health in South Africa.
Code for South Africa data portal
A portal for datasets for information like medicine costs, community profiles, crime statistics etc.
DataFirst is the Research Unit and Data Service based at the University of Cape Town. Provides access to survey and administrative microdata (data at unit record level) from South Africa and other African countries. OpenData Portal includes:
Data from the South African Department of Basic Education.
National Income Dynamics Study (NIDS)
Research ICT Africa
Data on Alcohol and Tobacco in Africa Project
Research on Open Educational Resources for Development Project (ROER4D)
Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit (SALDRU)
Health Systems Trust
Includes updated Health Indicators and the District Health Barometer.
Medical Research Council
Includes a number of publications, research reports, technical reports, etc. that include statistics.
South Africa. Department of Health.
Includes data on Country Health Profile, Burden of Disease and Mortality.
South Africa Data Portal
Portal for data, statistics and visualizations produced by Stats SA. Includes dataset browser (Data Catalog) for finding information on CPI, Demographics, Electricity, Household Expenditures, Living conditions, Malaria, Mortality, Poverty and Urbanization
South African Institute of Race Relations
Includes South Africa Survey which gives up-to-date information on demographics, living conditions, health and social security.
Statistics South Africa
Based on Census 2011, statistics can be explored by themes such as Household Service Delivery, Causes of Death and Poverty. Statistics provided by province and by municipality. Includes Maps Alive providing easy access to Census 2011 data. SuperCROSS version of Census 2011 is also loaded onto computers in ICH and Health Sciences Libraries for features such as tabulation and analytics devolving to suburb level.
Western Cape Government. Department of Health
Includes annual reports and other publications
Includes population data, household information, data on service delivery, economics and education, devolving to suburb or community level.
Finding data relating to children in South Africa