Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library & Information Science Library Guide: Databases

A guide to the resources in UCT Libraries

Databases

Please check the A-Z list of databases for the links to the databases listed below.

Databases to search

*   Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) covers the field of librarianship and information science but includes many related areas such as Publishing, and specific applications of information technology in such fields as Medicine and Agriculture. Available via Proquest.

* Library and Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.   Available Via EbscoHost.

* Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is especially useful when looking for school and children's librarian information.   Available via a number of platforms.

* Teacher Reference Center.   Available via EbscoHost.

EMERALD provides fulltext access to journals covering library collection and management, library technology, library management and information services and knowledge management. 

SAGE Journals Online

*  Proquest Education

* LearnTechLib

* SocIndex with Full text.  Available via EbscoHost

* Humanities International Complete.  Available via EbscoHost

* Scopus

* Science Direct

* Web of Knowledge

* Taylor and Francis Online

* Africa-Wide Information.   Available via EbscoHost

* Sabinet African Journals

* Academic Search Premier.   Available via EbscoHost

* SpringerLink

* JSTOR

* MasterFILE Premier.  Available via EbscoHost

* Directory of Open Access Journals

* E-LIS  is an open access archive to deposit preprints, postprints and other documents in the field of library and information science in electronic format.