Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Of Cape Town Current Read & Publish Agreements

The Read & Publish agreements give the University of Cape Town access to journal content and allow authors to publish articles Open Access.

UCT Read & Publish Agreements

Read & Publish Agreements: Information for Researchers

WHAT

Read & Publish agreements are a form of transformative agreement with a publisher that takes the library’s existing expenditure on subscriptions and repurposes it to cover both reading and publishing in that publisher’s journals. If you publish in a journal that’s included in one of the Read & Publish agreements, you may be able to publish direct to open access with no transactional article processing charges.

WHY

Open access publishing makes your research outputs available globally via the publisher’s platform. This makes your findings accessible to a wider audience, including the public, industry, practitioners, government and researchers in developing countries. Open access publishing supports translation of research into practice and allows other researchers to build on your work. Your research is more visible, potentially leading to higher citation rates and more impact.

HOW

Author publishing workflow. You don’t need to change your publishing practices. Submit where you would normally submit your research and you’ll be notified on acceptance if you are eligible to publish your article open access with no transactional APCs (Article Processing Charges).

 

 

Further Reading

Hinchcliffe, L. (2019, April 23). Transformative agreements: a primerThe Scholarly Kitchen.

 

 

List of current UCT Read & Publish agreements

2022 UCT Read & Publish Agreements

In 2022, the UCT Libraries is participating in six R&P agreements, which will enable University of Cape Town (UCT) authors to publish accepted articles into eligible journals without any APCs. These agreements are:

Details for each of these agreements, including information for authors, can be accessed via the navigation tabs of this guide.

Association for Computing Machinery

ACM Publishing Workflow

The 2021-2023  Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) R&P agreement allows UCT  authors to publish open access without costs in almost 60 journals and proceedings of this publisher without having to pay an APC. There is no limit to the number of articles that can be published.

Please visit the publisher’s website for a full list of included publications.

Information for Authors

UCT corresponding authors may publish immediately to open access on the publisher's platform once the article has been accepted, with no transactional APCs.

To be eligible under this agreement, authors must use their institutional email address (@uct.ac.za or @myuct.ac.za ) when submitting their articles for publishing.

Author rights

The default choice when publishing within the ACM Open Agreement is for the corresponding author to use a non-exclusive CC-BY licence, unless they choose a different type of Creative Commons licence.

The author may also choose to transfer copyright or give ACM exclusive access to publish their articles.

Publisher FAQ’s

Publisher’s Guide for Open Access Authors

Cambridge University Press

CUP Publishing Workflow

The agreement allows authors from UCT to publish into the majority Cambridge University Press journals without the need of any transactional article processing charge or payment (APC). Further information on this agreement is available from Cambridge University Press.

Cambridge University Press journals

Content

Information for Authors

Author rights

Articles from  UCT authors  may be published under the author's choice of the following licences:

  • CC-BY
  • CC-BY-SA
  • CC-BY-ND
  • CC-BY-NC
  • CC-BY-NC-SA
  • CC-BY-NC-ND.

Further information about the licences is available on the publisher's website.

The Creative Commons licenses allow reuse (some with conditions) while protecting the authors' rights of acknowledgment as authors. Authors retain copyright.

How to submit your article for open access publishing

  1. Follow CUP’s usual article submission process via the journal’s homepage on Cambridge Core.
  2. On acceptance of the article, CUP will ask the corresponding UCT  author to complete a form (publishing agreement).
  3. The corresponding author selects Gold Open Access and confirms the licence type (i.e. CC-BY).
  4. Rightslink works on the publisher's behalf to manage the APCs. When the  submitting author is from UCT, the APC will be automatically waived.

Also see the Step by Step Guide to Publishing OA in Cambridge Journals.

Author identification

In all correspondence with the publisher and Rightslink, UCT authors must use their:

  • Institutional postal address
  • Institutional email address
  • ORCID.

Need help

Emerald

Emerald Publishing Workflow

The Read & Publish agreement with Emerald for 2022-2024 permits corresponding authors from UCT to publish a capped number of articles as OA free of charge in the gold and hybrid journals to which we subscribe

 

Information for Authors

Emerald has  partnered with the SANLIC Consortium to provide participating institutions in South Africa with an agreed number of APC vouchers.

Eligibility – If you are an author based at UCT you are eligible for an APC voucher which will be allocated at the point of which your article is accepted. 

Where you can use your APC voucher – Vouchers can be used for publishing in the Emerald hybrid and fully open access journals, and  open access platform, Emerald Open Research.

How to use your APC voucher – When publishing in a journal, simply select the option to publish open access when submitting your article on scholar one. When publishing on Emerald Open Research, your eligibility will automatically be recognised and applied.

Always use your institutional email address when submitting your work as this enables us to recognise your eligibility.

SAGE

SAGE Publishing Workflow

The Library’s agreement with SAGE allows corresponding authors from UCT to publish an uncapped number of articles as OA in SAGE hybrid titles (SAGE Choice) for free.

Open Access publishing rights, with no cost to the author in Hybrid journals within the current Premier collection (or IMechE collection for existing collection subscribers). This represents the widest coverage in terms of options for publishing OA.

Minimum of 20% discount on APCs in wholly Gold OA titles.

There are different rules for subscription (hybrid) and fully Open Access (Gold) journals under our arrangements with this publisher. Make sure that you check the publishing model of the journal before you submit. 

The Royal Society

Royal Society Publishing Workflow

The UCT Libraries signed the transitional agreement with the Royal Society of Chemistry for the period 2022 - 2024

The Royal Society publishes ten journals across the biological, physical, mathematical and engineering sciences. This collection includes well-renowned titles such as Philosophical Transactions, the very first scientific journal in history (1665).

 

 

Information for Authors

Information for authors

Corresponding authors from institutions listed under 'Participating institutions' may publish immediately to open access on the publisher's platform once the article has been accepted, with no transactional APCs. 

Author rights

Articles from authors at member institutions will be published under a CC-BY license, which allows maximum reuse while protecting the authors' rights of acknowledgment as authors.

How to submit your article for Open Access publishing

Submit your article via the following links to the publisher's submission system:

You will be recognised as being eligible for open access publishing with no transactional APCs via your institutional email address and institution name.

View the Royal Society's website for information for authors and for further information on their Read & Publish process

Wiley

Wiley Publishing Workflow

The 2022 Wiley R&P agreement enables UCT authors to publish immediately to open access on the publisher's platform once the article has been accepted, with no transactional APCs.

Included titles

This agreement allows UCT authors to publish open access in approximately 1,400 titles with no transactional APCs. View the full list of Wiley hybrid titles available for UCT authors to publish open access in under the agreement on the publisher’s website.

Eligible articles

Article types

Open access publishing covered under this agreement includes the following article types:

  • Primary research and review articles, including but not limited to original articles
  • Case studies
  • Reviews
  • Short communications.

View Wiley's list of article classifications, which includes an indication of whether they are eligible for open access publishing. 

Authors may publish excluded article types as “closed access” or pay an article publication charge (if applicable) to make the article open access.

Acceptance date

Articles must have an acceptance date within the duration of this agreement (2022) to be eligible to be published open access with no transactional APCs.

Information for Authors

Responsible corresponding authors* above may publish immediately to open access on the publisher's platform once the article has been accepted with no transactional APCs. Page and colour charges may apply.

Author rights

Articles from authors at participating institutions may be published under the author's choice of the following licences:

  • CC-BY
  • CC-BY-NC
  • CC-BY-NC-ND

Short video on selecting the best license for your open access publication (Wiley)

Further information about the licences is available on the publisher’s website.

The Creative Commons licenses allow reuse (some with conditions) while protecting the authors' rights of acknowledgment as authors. Authors retain copyright.

How to submit your article for open access publishing

  1. Follow the publisher's usual article submission process via the journal’s homepage.
  2. On acceptance of the article, the responsible* corresponding author selects open access, confirms the licence type (e.g. CC-BY), and indicates funder and their institutional affiliation using Wiley Author Services.
  3. The APC will be waived for authors who have 
    • used an institutional email address belonging to one of the participating institutions and
    • selected a participating institution as their institutional affiliation.

Author identification

Authors will be identified as eligible for open access publishing with no transactional APCs by their 

  • UCT email address and
  • and UCT institutional affiliation.

Responsible corresponding authors must use their institutional email address when submitting an article for publication in order for the publication to be approved to be published open access with no transactional APCs.

Responsible corresponding authors should not use personal email addresses (e.g. Hotmail, Gmail). Doing so may result in delayed approval of the article or the article may not be approved to be published open access under the terms of the agreement. 

 

* Each article may have more than one corresponding author, but only a single designated 'responsible corresponding author'  will be in charge of the administrative details for the article.

 

For more information on the author workflow refer to this step-by-step guide on publishing open access in Wiley hybrid journals.