It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Marketing Library Guide: Scientific and technical writing guides
A six-step model offers invaluable assistance for selecting a topic, searching the literature, developing arguments, surveying the literature, critiquing the literature, and writing the literature review. Book description from Google Books: http://books.google.com/books?id=wx4mAQAAIAAJ&source=gbs_ViewAPI
"The Literature Review" is a concise step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and writing up the literature review chapter in Masters dissertations and in Ph.D. and professional doctorate theses. Diana Ridley describes how to carry out a literature review in a systematic, methodical way, providing useful strategies for efficient reading, conducting searches, organising information and writing the review itself. Examples of best and worst practice drawn from real literature reviews are included throughout to demonstrate how the guidance can be put into practice. This is an accessible, pragmatic and highly practical resource that will be welcomed by postgraduate students of any discipline. Book description from Nielsen BookData Online.
"The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project" gives students the knowledge and skills they need to get from 'clueless' to 'completed'. This highly readable text guides the reader through each stage of their research project, from getting started to writing up, with each chapter clearly explaining a step along the way. Based on the author's hugely popular "The Essential Guide to Doing Research", this new book retains the warmth, wit and grounded nature of the first, while providing tools to help students through the ins and outs of their own projects, and addressing the key questions students need to tackle, such as: What is this thing called research and why do it? How can I assure that my research project has integrity? How to I develop a researchable question? How do I construct a winning proposal? What exactly is expected in a literature review? What options are there in qualitative, quantitative, mixed and more purposive methodological designs? Is it best to work with a sample, key informants, or a case? What data collection options are there and how do I choose? How should I work with my quantitative data? What should I do with my qualitative data? How in the world will I capture this on paper? This is an inspiring book full of down-to-earth advice, illuminating figures and diagrams and engaging real life examples. With this book as your personal mentor, a successfully completed research project is well within reach. Zina O'Leary is an applied social scientist and senior lecturer at the University of Western Sydney. She is the author of "Researching Real-World Problems" and "The Social Science Jargon Buster". Book description from Nielsen BookData Online. http://www.nielsenbookdataonline.com/bdol/
A resource for students and supervisors alike, the topics covered are related to the management of postgraduate research studies: the development of a successful research proposal (with examples); research resource management; research ethics and more. Book description from Nielsen BookData Online: http://www.nielsenbookdataonline.com/bdol/
Written in simple, straightforward language, "From Research to Manuscript," explains how to understand and summarize a research project. It is a writing guide that goes beyond grammar and style by demonstrating how to pull together the information needed for each section of a polished scientific paper. This book is a systematic guide, leading you from the data on your desk through the drafts and rewrites that are needed to build a complete and tightly-written science article. "From Research to Manuscript" includes tools and techniques for structuring the sentences, paragraphs, and sections of a research paper. It gives wide-ranging examples from well-written research articles. It offers advice to speakers of other languages. It explains the effective use of tables, graphs, statistics, and figures. It shows you how to organize your data to clearly present your results. It guides you through the process of manuscript submission and editorial review. The updated second edition includes more examples, advice on publishing in online journals, software suggestions, and updated references. Overall, "From Research to Manuscript" argues that scientists should be working on their paper during their active research. Writing will keep the research project organized, thorough, and thoughtful. "From Research to Manuscript" provides a format for integrating writing and research, so that you can strengthen your science, compose a better paper, and get the paper published.
Book description from Nielsen BookData Online http://www.nielsenbookdataonline.com/bdol/
UCT Writing Centre / Links
To access the most updated version of the Writing Centre -
join the UCT Writing Centre as follows
go to My Workspace on VULA
Under - Workspace
Go to – Membership
Under - Joinable sites
Search for – “UCT Writing Centre” (I used the arrows>)
The Writing Centre is a dynamic skills-based unit, created to provide a walk-in, one-on-one consultancy service for students from all faculties, and all academic levels of the university. Based on these individual consultations, the Writing Centre identifies and analyses the language and learning difficulties in student writing, and provides feedback to departmental staff. The Writing Centre is a project within the Language Development Group (LDG) which focuses on research-driven developmental work, particularly through curriculum involvement.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) is an award-winning tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SRM's taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content.
SRM's taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content, including:
* Over 600 books
* Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks
* The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series
* Two major works collating a selection of journal articles
* Newly commissioned videos