Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide for students at UCT. Page 2 of this document contains a plagiarism declaration if you are handing in a printed assignment.
To avoid plagiarism, it is important to always acknowledge the words, ideas or opinions of another writer. It is important to find out from your department which referencing style has been prescribed especially if they have their own particular version of one of the accepted styles of referencing.
For information on Turnitin, the plagiarism detector, see the box entitled Turnitin
Most recently published journal articles have a DOI or Digital Object Identifier. Some referencing styles, such as APA(6th ed.) and Harvard(UCT), require that the DOI be displayed in the list of references if available. Crossref provides a free search facility to locate an article's DOI.
EndNote is available to staff and students of UCT. It can be downloaded onto your computer from the ICTS web site.
EndNote Web, located in Web of Science OR at EndNote Online enables EndNote users to collect references when away from their desktop and to collaborate with others.
Little EndNote How-To Book (X9)
An eBook of instructions on how to accomplish specific tasks in EndNote, such as importing references from a specific online database, Cite While You Write and sharing EndNote references.
EndNote X9 Manual
Download the complete user's manual for either Windows or Mac
EndNote's own libguide. Includes important information for Mac users
There are numerous training videos on EndNote X8 and X9 on YouTube
The Little EndNote How-To Book (X8)
EndNote X8 training March 2017. An eBook of instructions on how to perform specific tasks in EndNote (116 pages)
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. This product has been replaced by a new updated version called New RefWorks . If you have a university email you can register for an account either on or off campus. If you have a non-university email domain and prefer to use this instead of your UCT email, kindly contact the library for instructions and an access code.
You are welcome to book a training session with a reference librarian to get you started.
Link to New RefWorks using your UCT email. If you have a non-university email domain, kindly contact the library for instructions and an access code.
Quick guide to the main features of the New RefWorks