Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender Studies Library Guide: Free interdisciplinary online books

Gender Studies Library Guide

Publicly available online books sources

List courtesy of Erin Gallagher, Electronic Resources Librarian, University of Florida - this list of Publisher/Vendor Support

 

Links to free full-text resources provided by publishers during the emergency

Cambridge University Press

In response to the disruption caused by COVID-19, Cambridge University Press has given us temporary access to the following collections until 31 May 2020. 

700+ HTML textbooks published Cambridge Core
https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/textbooks

Cambridge Companions
https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-companions

Cambridge Histories
https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories

Cambridge Elements
https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/elements

In addition, they are providing free access to coronavirus research on Cambridge Core. More than 80 relevant book chapters and journal articles are currently in the collection, with future articles being added once they are published: https://www.cambridge.org/core/browse-subjects/medicine/coronavirus-free-access-collection

 

Loeb Classical Library

The publishers of the Loeb Classical Library Online have made an extended free trial available to us due to the COVID-19 outbreak. Links to the resource are available from the Libraries databases list on the website and to the various volumes in the series via Primo.

 

Bloomsbury Press

Bloomsbury have given us temporary access to some of their digital resources until the end of May 2020:

These resources have been listed on the UCT Libraries Databases list and the individual titles are accessible through Primo.

 

Elsevier textbooks

Elsevier have made 256 textbooks available to us on ScienceDirect until the end of May 2020.  hey are all available through Primo.

 

International Musicological Society

UCT has access to the following databases until 31 May 2020: