| Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources. UCT Libraries subscribe to many databases covering a wide range of subject areas.
You can search a database by typing in keywords that describe your topic. The database will provide you with information about journal articles and other materials on the topic, and may even link you to full text articles in our electronic journals. To get the most out of our databases, make an appointment with your Subject Librarian who will give you detailed information and useful tips about designing your search strategy and refining your results. |
Knovel is an online technical reference platform that provides access to a vast collection of engineering and scientific resources, including handbooks, data, and interactive tools. It serves as a valuable resource for engineers and researchers, offering searchable content, equations, and material properties to enhance productivity and facilitate problem-solving. Knovel integrates various engineering disciplines, allowing users to easily find critical information and apply it to their projects and research. There are tutorials embedded in the product to make the user’s journey a bit easier. Please also receive the Knovel LibGuide. UCT Libraries subscribe to the following subject categories: Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Civil Engineering & Construction Materials; Electrical & Power Engineering; Electronics & Semiconductors; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering; Nanotechnology; Sustainable Energy & Development; Transportation Engineering.
