Resources for Dance can be found at the Hiddingh Hall Library and at the WH Bell Music Library (Middle Campus) because the Centre for Theatre, Dance and the Performing Arts have departments that are situated on the two campuses.
The Music Library predominantly houses sources in Contemporary Dance, African Dance, Classical Ballet and movement approaches such as improvisation and somatic dance as well as dance pedagogy and other, while the Hiddingh Hall Library houses resources in Drama and the Performing Arts.
Dance in Video (part of the Music Online collection from Alexander Street Press)
Dance in Video contains hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
International Index to Performing Arts Full Text provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 100 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes half a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
International Bibliography of Theater & Dance (EBSCO) is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.
Africa-Wide Information (EBSCO) combines databases (African Studies, South African Studies, and African Healthline) to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Humanities International Complete is an essential collection for comprehensive coverage of the humanities with full text content.
SABINET African Journals is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South- and Southern African journals in the world.
SA Media (SABINET) is one of the most comprehensive press cutting services offering you access to a database consisting of more than 3 million newspaper reports and periodical articles which have been indexed on computer since 1978.