If a journal article is not available at UCT libraries. You can request it via InterLibrary Loans from another library.
Art & Architecture Complete™ is the definitive research database for the study of art and architecture. It is accessed via the EBSCOhost platform.
Topics covered include astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, health & medicine, zoology etc. It is accessed via the EBSCOhost platform.
JSTOR provides access to a number of older journal articles.
Access to journals and ebooks published by Elsevier Science.
The Web of Science is a large, broad-based abstracting database with direct links to journal articles.
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books that meet academic standards.
Click on DoPP Login to identify material from more than 40,000 conferences, meetings & symposia. Subjects covered: Science/Technology; Medical/Life Sciences; Pollution Control/Ecology; Social Sciencs/Humanities.
The directory contains information about open access journals, i.e. quality controlled scientific and scholarly electronic journals that are freely available on the web. The service will continue to grow as new journals are identified.
Search and view the full text of the selection of eBooks purchased by UCT Libraries.
"Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process."
Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources.
Search for articles using databases by typing keywords that describe your topic. When searching, it is helpful to have a search strategy. Contact your librarian to help you
When using the internet sources you should be cautious as most websites don't undergo peer review. There are various frameworks to help you evaluate resources.
Checking Generative AI output for Credibility and the SIFT method from James Cook University Australia
