LibGuides: Computer Science Library Guide: Reference Books

The Reference Collection

The reference books are on your left as you enter the Library ...

Reference books, such as encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries are useful for looking up facts or finding definitions. Encyclopedias provide succinct overviews of topics and often have suggestions for further reading.

Reference books may not be borrowed, so you need to use them in the Library. They all have shelf numbers with R or DSR in front of the number. We also have a number of online encyclopedias ... see below.

Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Encyclopædia Britannica
ISBN: 1593392923
With over 73,000 articles, Encyclopædia Britannica is one of the most complete and accurate information sources in the world. It contains both short and book-length articles on every subject, historical timelines, maps, photographs, video clips, illustrations, sound files, quotations, world data tables, and more. It includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Access Science
ISBN: 9780071792738
This general science and technology encyclopaedia is useful for quickly finding definitions or broad overviews of topics. It contains the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, animations, biographies, a study centre, and latest science news.
Encyclopedia of Communities of Practice in Information and Knowledge Management
ISBN: 9781591405566
The Encyclopedia of Communities of Practice in Information and Knowledge Management provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of all facets of CoPs in information and knowledge management in societies and organizations.
Encyclopedia of Developing Regional Communities with Information and Communication Technology
ISBN: 9781591405757
The Encyclopedia of Developing Regional Communities with Information and Communication Technology covers topics related to the emerging field of information and communication technology (ICT) and its role in developing regional communities. This single-volume provides a thorough examination of concepts, technologies, policies, training, and applications of ICT in support of economic and regional developments around the globe.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology
ISBN: 9781591408154
The Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology provides an all-encompassing perspective on the way gender and information technology impact each other. It covers research about the role of gender in human interaction with IT and the IT profession, as well as the contributions, challenges, issues, and experiences of women in the IT field.
Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management
ISBN: 9781591405733
The Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management covers the past, present, and emerging directions of knowledge management and offers a broad basis for understanding the issues, technologies, theories, applications, opportunities, and challenges being faced by researchers and organizations today in their quest for knowledge management.
Webopedia
Webopedia is a free online dictionary for words, phrases and abbreviations that are related to computer and Internet technology. It provides easy-to-understand definitions in plain language, avoiding the use of heavy jargon when possible.