Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are vast searchable collections of records describing journal articles and other documents such as conference papers, reports, and book chapters. They are produced commercially or by learned societies, and most of them are international in scope, thus enabling you to explore the world's literature in a particular field. When you search a large international database, the articles you discover may, or may not, be available in UCT Libraries. Most databases provide abstracts (or summaries) of the articles' content, and some provide the full text of the articles themselves. When full text is not part of the database, our link resolver software, SFX, will help you track down the full article if it is available in any of our e-journal packages.
CiteSeerX focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Computer and Information Systems Abstracts
his bibliographic database provides comprehensive, worldwide literature on the latest theoretical research and practical applications, in the field of computer science and information systems technology.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It is accessed via the EBSCOhost platform.
Engineering Village: Compendex & Inspec
Engineering Village has the search, analytics, and navigation tools that engineers need to efficiently generate research, assess the impact and relevancy of critical information, and discover new insights for addressing the world’s toughest engineering challenges. An interdisciplinary engineering and applied science database. Coverage includes applied physics and astronomy.
General Science Abstracts
Topics covered include astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, health & medicine, zoology etc. It is accessed via the EBSCOhost platform.
Topics covered include physics, computer science, electronics and engineering.
JSTOR provides access to a number of older journal articles.
MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification
Access to journals and ebooks published by Elsevier Science.
Web of Science
The Web of Science is a large, broad-based abstracting database with direct links to journal articles.