LibGuides: Economics Library Guide: News

News articles

UCT Libraries subscribes to PressReader, a database that provides access to over 7000 publications from more than 55 countries (including South Africa). Access covers the most recent 6 months and content may be browsed by country, language or title. Access is via the A-Z list of databases.

In addition, UCT Libraries has access to several databases that index newspapers from around the globe. These are:

AllAfrica.com This link opens in a new window
AllAfrica.com is among the Internet's largest content sites posting over 800 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 900,000 articles in a searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). Strategic alliances with media and information technology companies, such as Comtex News Network, Radio France Internationale, and the BBC, extend AllAfrica's global reach.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
A huge database of journal and news articles, together with search options for country reports and company profiles, each from a range of top-notch sources.

Reuters
Reuters, the world’s largest international news agency, is a leading provider of real-time, high-impact, multimedia news and information services to newspapers, television and cable networks, radio stations and websites around the globe.
more...less...
Access is from a stand-alone PC in the Commerce Library.

SA Media
S.A. Media is one of the most comprehensive press cutting services offering you access to a database consisting of more than 3 million newspaper reports and periodical articles which have been indexed on computer since 1978.
World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers 1800-1922
More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

How to look for newspaper articles using LexisNexis Academic

This slide show demonstrates how to find a newspaper articles using LexisNexis

Economics Library Guide: News

News articles

How to look for newspaper articles using LexisNexis Academic

How to access The Economist

How to look for newspaper articles using SA Media