Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Library Guide: Databases

Library guide for Music & Dance students & staff
Alexander Street database shortcut
Jstor shortcut
Google scholar shortcut
ProQuest shortcut
Grove music online shortcut

Directory of Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.


Early Music Online

Early Music Online holds digitised volumes of 16th-century anthologies of printed music, from holdings at the British Library. These digitised volumes contain musical compositions, which have been individually indexed. The volumes mainly consist of partbooks of vocal polyphony, but also include some early printed tablatures for keyboard or plucked string instruments. They include music printed in Italy, Germany, France and England.


Encyclopaedia Britannica Academic Edition 

Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopaedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—all from one resource. 


Google Scholar 

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.


International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text 

The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research database for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for top-performing arts journals and books. Subjects include ballet, cinema, comedy, dance, and drama.


JSTOR 

JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content, with more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources. 


Music & Performing Arts 

Get all the information about Music & Performing Arts over here


Music Periodicals Database (1864 - current) 

Music Periodicals Database covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.


Open Music Library

The Open Music Library is an initiative from Alexander Street to build the world’s largest free index of digital resources for the study of music. Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.


Oxford History of Western Music 

The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. Since its original publication in print, Taruskin’s landmark study has received universal acclaim and numerous awards.


Oxford Music Online 

Oxford Music Online is the gateway to Grove Music Online, the world’s premier online music encyclopedia. It offers a comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, and music-making, charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.


Performing Arts Periodicals Database 

Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.‚Äč


RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text 

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from the early 19th century to the present on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects, enhanced with the full text of more than 200 periodicals.


RILM Music Encyclopedias Trial

RILM Music Encyclopedias is a continually expanding curated full-text collection that currently comprises 57 titles published from 1775 to the present. Its content spans various fields and subject areas of historical musicology, ethnomusicology and theory, with focus on topics ranging from popular music, opera, instruments, blues and gospel, to recorded music and women composers.


RIPM Jazz Periodicals  Trial 

A full-text, cover-to-cover collection of over 100  jazz journals and magazines published in the United States from 1914 to 2000 overseen by the Répertoire international de la Press Musicale (RIPM). The largely rare American periodicals in this resource explore the genre’s roots in blues, ragtime, and Dixieland, continuing on through the swing and big band era of the 1930s and 40s, to the birth and development of bebop, West Coast jazz, cool jazz, and free jazz.


RIPM Retrospective Index with Full Text and North American and European Music Periodicals (Preservation Series) Trial