Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Library Guide: Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street)

Library guide for Music & Dance students & staff

Music & Performing Arts

Music & Performing Arts 

Music & Performing Arts from Alexander Street combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music. It is the gateway to:

American Music Audio Video Text

Provides a suite of online audio recordings to support the teaching of American musical traditions including country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B and shape note singing. Listening to the music of the American experience also brings an entirely new dimension to studies in history, music, literature, diversity, sociology, and related disciplines. It features the following collections: 

Classical Music Audio Video Text

Supports the teaching and research of classical music with coverage of all major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas and the avant-garde. It features the following collections:

Dance Video Text

Contains hundreds of hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th and 21st centuries, featuring ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance. It features the following collections:

Jazz Audio Video

Offers an extensive collection of online audio recordings to support the teaching and research of Jazz and related musical genres, including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band music, modern jazz, and more. It features the following collections:

Popular Music Audio Video

Contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more. It features the following collections:

World Music Audio Video Text 

Supports the teaching and research of musical traditions from around the world, with coverage of music from almost 170 countries and over 1,000 cultural groups. In addition to an extensive folk music collection, World Music features content from a host of genres - reggae, hip-hop, rap, electronic, spoken word, and opera to name a few. It features the following collections: