Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Studies Library Guide: Finding DVDs and Videos

A guide to resources for Film Studies @ UCT Libraries

Library's DVD Collection

The Chancellor Oppenheimer Library holds DVDs and videos, primarily to support the Centre for Film and Media Studies,  but there is also material selected by and relevant to other Departments and Faculties.     The collection contains feature films, drama and a wide range of documentaries.

DVDs and videos are available from the Loans Desk in the library.  

DVDs in Short Loan are generally required or secondary viewing for the Centre for Film and Media Studies, and are generally only available to Film and Media Studies students.

 

 

How to find DVDS and Videos in the Library

If you are looking for a specific title ...

  • Do a search on PRIMO.    If you check the location, the shelf number will have a prefix that contains the letters "DV" or "VT".    DVDs and Videos here in the Chancellor Oppenheimer Library will carry a prefix that reads "RZDV" (for a DVD) or "RZVT" (for a video tape).

   Ask for the title by shelf number at the Loans Desk.   These films are available to all of the UCT community.   

Most of the films housed in Short Loan are required or secondary viewing for Film Studies students.   

If you are wanting to browse 

  • Do a search on PRIMO by typing in DVD in the search box.   Limit the search to UCT Library Catalogue.   Then limit the search using "Resource Type" (lefthand side of page) and select DVD.    This will give a list of the entire DVD holdings across UCT Libraries.       This list can then be further refined e.g. by limiting to the particular library by clicking on "Library"  (also on the lefthand side of page)  

 

 

 

 

 

Where to watch DVDs and Videos in the Library

In the Chancellor Oppenheimer Library,  individual viewing facilities, are available at two workstations on the terrace.   These facilities can be used to watch either videos or DVDs.

Most of the workstations in the library have built-in DVD readers.

Headphones can be borrowed at the loans desk, but we do recommend you bring your own.

Special Collections has limited viewing facilities.   These are reserved for students watching DVDs/videos borrowed from Special Collections only.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Film Online

National Screening Room is a project of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center. The goal of this digital collection is to present to the widest audience possible movies from the Library's extensive holdings, offering a broad range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.

Russian Film Hub    Russian and Soviet movies with English subtitles for free which can be filtered by genre,  director, and more.

JustWatch  shows you where you can legally watch movies and TV shows on Netflix, Amazon Prime, and iTunes and many other streaming platforms in South Africa.  However you do need to have your own personal subscription in order to watch 

TubiTV  is a free streaming service.  Not all the films will be available in our territory. 

Films in the Public Libraries

To see what the public libraries have in stock, see the Western Cape Provincial Library Service collection.