Skip to main content

Economic History: Industries in the 1920s and 1930s: Government Resources: Library Guide: Union Government

Economic History Research Project.

Union Government

The Union of South Africa was established on 31 May 1910, in terms of the South Africa Act, 1909. The Union was formed by the amalgamation of the four British Colonies, the Cape of Good Hope, Natal, the Orange Free State and the Transvaal. These colonies became the Provinces of the Union. The Union was replaced by a Republic outside the Commonwealth on 31 May 1961.