Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding the Evidence
PubMed, Cochrane Library and Scopus, as described earlier, are very important sources of systematic reviews, trials and primary research. Listed below are resources that are particularly useful to locating evidence in the allied health disciplines, such as Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy and Communication and Speech Disorders.
Prepares, maintains and disseminates systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare. This includes a library of systematic reviews and review templates.
This is an index to hundreds of Nursing and Allied Health journals. By using the filters, you can limit your search to systematic reviews, trials, EBM or practice guidelines.
(First link to EBSCOHost, then to CINAHL)
Health Source Nursing/ Academic Edition
Strong coverage of Nursing and Allied Health.
(First link to EBSCOHost, then link to database)
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Use the methodology filters to restrict your search to systematic reviews, trials and other types of clinical studies
(First link to EBSCOHost, then to PsychINFO)
Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free index to randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. It includes tutorials on appraising trials and studies.
The database provides a catalogue of the best research evidence of the effectiveness of physiotherapy interventions. Produced by the Georgia Institute for Global Health.
A database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, practice guidelines and other resources relevant to Occupational Therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. The Resources Section includes numerous tutorials on Evidence- Based Practice in Occupational Therapy, such as, searching for evidence, critical appraisals, and implementation of evidence in practice.
A database of studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a result of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality.
Free database of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy in Speech Pathology practice. It includes systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other clinical studies.
Crtically appraised topics and articles
Journals that contain peer-reviewed CATS:
Evidence-Based Communication Assessment and Intervention
Evidence Based Midwifery
The Online Journal of Knowledge Synthesis for Nursing
Worldviews on Evidence-based Nursing
Database of evidence-based clinical practice rehabilitation guidelines produced by the University of Ottawa School of Rehabilitation Sciences.
Other web sites and resources