Skip to Main Content

South African Homelands: Library Guide: KwaZulu

A guide to the holdings of the homelands in the Government Publications Department of the University of Cape Town Libraries.

KwaZulu Resources List

Library Resources

See above: KwaZulu Resources List


The Zulu Territorial Authority was established by Government notice No. R.762 of  22 May 1970 in SA Government Gazette No. 2713 of 22 May 1970.

The KwaZulu Legislative Assembly was established by Proclamation R.70, 1972 in SA Government Gazette No. 3436 of 30 March 1972. Called the KwaZulu Constitution Proclamation, 1972.

The KwaZulu Government departments were established by Proclamation R.73, 1972 in SA Government Gazette No. 3436 of 30 March 1972.      

The Territory was proclaimed a self­ governing territory within the Republic of South Africa, under the name of KwaZulu, in accordance with the provisions of the National States Constitution Act, 1971 (Act 21 of 1971), by Proclamation No. R.11, 1977, in SA Government Gazette No. 5387 of 28 January 1977, with effect from 1 February 1977.