Skip to Main Content

South African Homelands: Library Guide: Venda

A guide to the holdings of the homelands in the Government Publications Department of the University of Cape Town Libraries.

Venda Resources List

Library Resources

See above: Venda Resources List


The Thoho-ya-Ndou Territorial Authority was established, in terms of the Bantu Homelands Constitution Act 21 of 1971, by Government Notice No. R.1864 in SA Government Gazette No. 370 of 9 November 1962.

The name of the Territorial Authority was changed to the Venda Territorial Authority by Government Notice No. R.837 in SA Government Gazette No. 2406 of 23 May 1969.

The government departments of the Venda Territorial Authority were established by Proclamation No. R.168 in SA Government Gazette No. 2440 of 20 June 1969.

The Venda Legislative Assembly was established by Proclamation No. R.119 in SA Government Gazette 3110 of 21 May 1971.

Venda was  declared a self-governing territory within the Republic of South Africa in accordance with the provisions of the Bantu Homelands Constitution Act 21 of 1971, by Proclamation No. R.12 in SA Government Gazette No. 3769 of 26 January 1973.

Venda was granted "independence" by the Status of Venda Act 107 of 1979.

Military Council of National Unity                   1990


Vorster, M. P. Constitutions of Transkei, Bophuthatswana, Venda and Ciskei.  Durban : Butterworths, 1985. Shelf no. GR 342.68 CONS